Student Track

Track description

The aim of the Student Track is to give students the opportunity to actively participate in the International Conference on Information Systems. It is aimed at students at the Master's level who are interested in either an IT-related position in business or in a scientific career in Business Informatics.

The Student Track offers a platform where students, scientists and practitioners can get to know each other in professional discourse. Students from all locations and fields of business informatics are invited to submit high-quality papers. Students who do not submit a paper are also welcome to attend the lectures and participate in the Student Track's social program.


25.10.2020: Submission of contributions

30.11.2020: Notification of students

22.12.2020: Submission of contributions ready for printing

Possible topics

Invited are contributions that deal with the design and use of information and communication systems in organizations. All topics of business informatics are welcome, e.g. business process management, business engineering, business transformation, customer relationship management, business intelligence and data science. Possible fields of application include eBusiness, eBanking, eLearning, eGovernment and eHealth. Conceptual as well as behavioral or design oriented contributions are considered.

Best Student Paper Award: The Liechtenstein Chapter of the Association for Informaton Systems (AIS) awards the best student paper with a prize money of 500,- Euro.

Submission and review process

Students can submit either work-in-progress papers or completed qualification papers that were submitted no more than ten months ago. Track Chairs will assign the submission to one of the above categories. The format and scope of the submissions must comply exactly with the requirements of the main conference. The format template is available for download on the conference website - contributions can be written in German or English. English contributions should be presented and discussed in English during the conference - Participation of the supervisors as co-authors of the submission is welcome. In this case the students will act as first authors and present their work at the conference. The authors are asked to make their contributions anonymous for the review process by omitting their name, address, etc. in the contribution. All other information that allows conclusions to be drawn about the authors, e.g. metadata, should also be deleted. The submission of the paper for the review process is done as a PDF document - The submission of papers is done online via the conference system of the main conference - Submitted papers will be evaluated in the regular review process of the conference. Students will receive a differentiated professional feedback from at least two independent reviewers of the program committee (double-blind).

Best Student Paper Award: The Liechtenstein Chapter of the Association for Informaton Systems (AIS) awards the best student paper with a prize money of 500,- Euro.


Accepted completed qualification papers will be presented in the conference paper session and published in the conference proceedings. Work-in-Progress papers will be presented in a poster session accessible to all conference participants. Papers presented in the poster session will not be published in the conference proceedings. - The conference proceedings will be made available to the conference participants in electronic form (PDF/E- Book). - The publication of a contribution and its inclusion in the conference program requires that at least one author has registered for the conference and paid the conference fee.

Track Chairs

Martin Matzner

Martin Matzner is Professor of the Institute for Information Systems and Head of the Chair for Digital Industrial Service Systems at the Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nuremberg (FAU).

In 2012 he received his doctorate from the University of Münster for his work on the management of networked service business processes in business informatics. His research areas include business process management, business process analysis, service engineering and service management. In these areas he has completed a number of research projects funded by the European Union, the German government and industry. He has published more than 70 research papers and articles, including in the Management Information Systems Quarterly (MISQ) and IEEE Transactions on Engineering Management. He is editor of the Journal of Service Management Research.

Thomas Grisold

Thomas Grisold is Assistant Professor at the Institute for Information Systems at the University of Liechtenstein.

His research and teaching focuses on BPM-related topics and he is particularly interested in the interface between BPM and organizational theory. His research has been published in IS, BPM and organization-related journals such as Business Horizons, Management Learning, The Data Base for Advances in Information Systems and Business Process Management Journal. Thomas received his doctorate from the Vienna University of Economics and Business Administration (WU), where he focused on organizational learning and learning processes. He was a visiting researcher at the University of Notre Dame (US), Queensland University of Technology (Australia), Lancaster University (UK), University of Palermo (Italy) and the University of Zagreb (Croatia).

Associate Editors

  • Prof. Dr. Jörg Becker, Universität Münster
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrich Bretschneider, Universität Kassel
  • Prof. Dr. Jan vom Brocke, Universität Liechtenstein
  • Prof. Dr. Werner Esswein, Technische Universität Dresden
  • Prof. Dr. Torsten Eymann, Universität Bayreuth
  • Prof. Dr. Hans-Georg Fill, Universitè de Fribourg
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrich Frank, Universität Duisburg-Essen
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Norbert Gronau, Universität Potsdam
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrike Lechner, Universität der Bundeswehr München
  • Prof. Dr. Christine Legner, Université de Lausanne
  • Prof. Dr. Susanne Leist, Universität Regensburg
  • Prof. Dr. Claudia Loebbecke, Universität zu Köln
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Loos, Universität des Saarlandes
  • Prof. Dr. Ronald Maier, Universität Innsbruck
  • Prof. Dr. Florian Matthes, TU München
  • Prof. Dr. Jan Mendling, Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien
  • Prof. Dr. Kathrin Möslein, FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg
  • Prof. Dr. Markus Nüttgens, Universität Hamburg
  • Prof. Dr. Christoph Peters, Universität St. Gallen
  • Prof. Dr. René Riedl, Universität Linz
  • Prof. Dr. Detlef Schoder, Universität zu Köln
  • Prof. Dr. Alfred Taudes, Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien
  • Prof. Dr. Christof Weinhardt, Technische Universität Karlsruhe
  • Prof. Dr. Markus Weinmann, Erasmus University