Track Description

The Student Track enables students to actively participate in the conference. It is aimed at Master-level students who are interested in either an IT-related position in the business world or in a doctorate in business informatics.

The Student Track offers a platform where students, scientists and practitioners can meet and get to know each other in a professional discourse. Students from all locations and fields of business informatics are invited to submit high quality papers. Students who do not submit their own contribution are also welcome to attend the sessions and participate in the Student Track’s framework program. The Student Track is open for different main topics of Business Informatics. We invite contributions that deal with the design and use of information and communication systems in organizations from different perspectives. The Student Track provides the freedom to consider individual thematic orientations of the students.

Deadline submission student papers: 25/10/2020

Notifications + Reviews: 30/11/2020 –> 03/12/2020

Submission of final papers: 22/12/2020 –>  28/12/2020

Possible Topics

• Service Engineering and Management

• Business Process Management

• Business Engineering

• Business Transformation

• Business Intelligence and Data Science

• Customer Relationship Management

• (Service) Platforms

• Smart Services

• Social Media

• Mobile Application

• Sustainability and Green IS

Possible application areas: e-Business, eBanking, eManufacturing, eLearning, eGovernment, and eHealth.

We consider conceptual as well as behavioral or design-oriented contributions.

Best Student Paper Award: The Liechtenstein Chapter of the Association for Informaton Systems (AIS) awards the best student paper with a prize money of 500,- Euro.

Submission and review process

Students may submit either work-in-progress papers or completed qualification papers that were submitted no more than ten months ago. Track Chairs will assign the submission to one of the above categories. The format and length of the submissions must comply exactly with the requirements of the main conference. The format template is available for download on the conference website.- Papers can be written in German or English. English contributions should be presented and discussed in English during the conference.- The participation of the supervisors as co-authors of the submission is welcomed. In this case the students will act as first authors and present their work at the conference. Group work by several students is also possible.- Authors are asked to anonymize their contributions for the review process by omitting their name, address, etc. in the contribution. All other information that allows conclusions to be drawn about the authors, e.g. metadata, should also be deleted. The submission of the contribution for the review is done as a PDF document.- The submission of papers should only be done online via the conference system of the main conference- Submitted papers will be evaluated in the regular review process of the conference. Students will receive differentiated professional feedback from at least two independent reviewers of the program committee (double-blind).


Accepted completed qualification papers will be presented in the conference paper session and published in the conference proceedings. Work-in-Progress papers will be presented in a poster session, which is open to all conference participants. Papers presented in the poster session will not be published in the conference proceedings. – The conference proceedings will be made available to the conference participants in electronic form (PDF/E- Book). - The publication of a paper and its inclusion in the conference program requires that at least one author has registered for the conference and paid the conference fee.

Track Chairs

Martin Matzner

Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nürnberg

Martin Matzner is Professor of the Institute for Wirtschaftsinformatik and Head of the Chair for Digital Industrial Service Systems at the Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nuremberg (FAU).

In 2012, he received his doctorate from the University of Münster for his work on the management of networked service business processes in business informatics. His research areas include business process management, business process analysis, service engineering and service management. In these areas, he has completed a number of research projects funded by the European Union, the German government and industry. He has published more than 70 research papers and articles, among others in Management Information Systems Quarterly (MISQ) and IEEE Transactions on Engineering Management. He is editor of the Journal of Service Management Research.

Thomas Grisold

University of Liechtenstein

Thomas Grisold is Assistant Professor at the Institute for Information Systems at the University of Liechtenstein.

His research and teaching revolves around BPM-related topics and he is particularly interested in the interface between BPM and organizational theory. His research has been published in IS, BPM and organization-related journals such as Business Horizons, Management Learning, The Data Base for Advances in Information Systems and Business Process Management Journal. Thomas received his doctorate from the Vienna University of Economics and Business Administration (WU), where he focused on organizational learning and unlearning processes. He was a visiting researcher at the University of Notre Dame (US), Queensland University of Technology (Australia), Lancaster University (UK), the University of Palermo (Italy) and the University of Zagreb (Croatia).

Associate Editors

Prof. Dr. Jörg Becker, Universität Münster

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Bretschneider, Universität Kassel

Prof. Dr. Jan vom Brocke, Universität Liechtenstein

Prof. Dr. Werner Esswein, Technische Universität Dresden 

Prof. Dr. Torsten Eymann, Universität Bayreuth

Prof. Dr. Hans-Georg Fill, Universitè de Fribourg

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Frank, Universität Duisburg-Essen

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Norbert Gronau, Universität Potsdam

Prof. Dr. Ulrike Lechner, Universität der Bundeswehr München 

Prof. Dr. Christine Legner, Université de Lausanne

Prof. Dr. Susanne Leist, Universität Regensburg

Prof. Dr. Claudia Loebbecke, Universität zu Köln

Prof. Dr. Peter Loos, Universität des Saarlandes

Prof. Dr. Ronald Maier, Universität Innsbruck

Prof. Dr. Florian Matthes, TU München

Prof. Dr. Jan Mendling, Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien

Prof. Dr. Kathrin Möslein, FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg

Prof. Dr. Markus Nüttgens, Universität Hamburg

Prof. Dr. Christoph Peters, Universität St. Gallen

Prof. Dr. René Riedl, Universität Linz

Prof. Dr. Detlef Schoder, Universität zu Köln

Prof. Dr. Alfred Taudes, Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien

Prof. Dr. Christof Weinhardt, Technische Universität Karlsruhe 

Prof. Dr. Markus Weinmann, Erasmus University