Track Description

Retail faces many challenges. The ubiquitous competition from stationary retailers in the form of Amazon and Co. is leading to a tendency towards declining sales. At the same time, the stationary retailer must also be well-positioned in the multi-channel and omni-channel in order to be able to trade economically in the future. This raises the question of the optimal business model in retail: only digital, only stationary, which hybrid form? Is the medium-sized retailer capable of surviving on its own, or does it have to think in terms of cooperation in order to survive? These can be “physical” cooperations (cooperatives) or “virtual” ones (integration into the platform economy). The question of both the business model and the cooperation has an impact on the IT design of the retailer and the integration of the IT components (ERP system, e-commerce system, platform integration).

Possible Topics

● Retail strategies in the digital age

● Retail business models

● Multi-Channel and Omni-Channel

● IT integration strategies

● Retailers in the platform economy

● The retailer in the Smart City

● Horizontal and vertical integration 


Track Chairs

Jörg Becker

University of Münster

Jörg Becker is the chair and director of the Institute for Wirtschaftsinformatik at the University of Münster and Managing Director of the European Research Center for Information Systems (ERCIS), an international network of research institutions in the field of information systems. His research focuses on commercial information systems, eGovernment, data and process management and management information systems. He supports a number of retail companies in the selection and implementation of software for merchandise management and business intelligence systems. Jörg Becker has published in leading international journals, was co-chair of ICIS 2013 and ECIS 2015 and program chair and track chair of important international conferences. From 2008 to 2016 he was Vice Rector of the University of Münster and in this function responsible for all IT systems at the university.

Axel Winkelmann

Julius-Maximilian-Universität Würzburg

Axel Winkelmann holds the chair of Business Administration and Wirtschaftsinformatik at the Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg since 2012. He researches and teaches all aspects of integrated organization and application system design and advises and consults numerous companies in the selection and introduction of business software and new business models linked to the corporate data foundation. The chair runs its own research laboratory with about 30 enterprise software systems from the ERP and MMS environment and publishes research findings about software design, e.g. in the context of AI or block chain approaches, in international scientific journals and conferences.

Associate Editors

Christian Barthelheimer, Universität Paderborn ( christian.bartelheimer@uni-paderborn.de)

Daniel Beverungen, Universität Paderborn ( daniel.beverungen@uni-paderborn.de)

Ann-Kristin Cordes, Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster ( cordes@ercis.uni-muenster.de)

Christoph Flath, Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg ( christoph.flath@uni-wuerzburg.de)

Heiko Gewald, Neu-Ulm University of Applied Sciences (HNU) ( Heiko.Gewald@hnu.de)

Christian Leyh, Fraunhofer-Zentrum für internationales Management und Wissensökonomie IMW, Digitale Projekteinheit Data Mining und Wertschöpfung ( christian.leyh@imw.fraunhofer.de)

Martin Matzner, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg ( martin.matzner@fau.de)

Michael Rosemann, Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane, Australien ( m.rosemann@qut.edu.au)

Ralf Plattfaut, Fachhochschule Südwestfalen ( plattfaut.ralf@fh-swf.de)

Susanne Strahringer, Technische Universität Dresden ( susanne.strahringer@tu-dresden.de)

Peter Weber, Fachhochschule Südwestfalen ( weber.peter@fh-swf.de)